Labor Laws: A Breakdown Of Various Worker Protections

Labor laws vary state by state. So it can be difficult for you to understand it all in a simple and organized way. We are writing this article to break down the most looked-up labor laws and serve them to you to understand better what protections workers have by law.

Labor Laws: FLSA

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a federal law that establishes minimum wage, overtime pay eligibility, recordkeeping, and child labor standards affecting full-time and part-time workers in the private sector and Federal, State, and local governments.

The FLSA covers most employees in the United States. Coverage under FLSA depends on an employer’s activities rather than the type of business they are in or whether they are public or private entities.

The Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (WHD) is responsible for administering and enforcing the FLSA concerning private sector employers and state and local government employers.

Labor Laws With Breaks

Under the FLSA, employers must provide a 20-minute break for every six hours worked and a 30-minute break for every eight hours worked.


The National Labor Relations Act (NLRA) was enacted in 1935 and guaranteed the right of employees to organize and bargain collectively with their employers, engage in other protected concerted activity, or refrain from all such activity. The NLRA applies to most private-sector employers.


Congress enacted the Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSH Act) in 1970 to ensure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by authorizing the enforcement of standards developed under the Act.

The OSH Act covers most private sector employers and their workers and some public sector employers and workers in states that have elected to have state-run occupational safety and health programs overseen by Federal OSHA.

Child Labor Laws

The child labor laws in the United States provide several protections for child workers. These protections include limitations on the number of hours a child can work and restrictions on the types of work that a child can do.

In addition, the child labor laws require that employers provide specific protections for child workers, such as ensuring that they have a safe and healthful workplace.

These laws vary from state to state, but most contain similar provisions. For example, most states prohibit children under 14 from working in hazardous occupations. In addition, most states limit the number of hours that a child can work each day and week.

Labor Laws Of California

The labor laws of California are extensive and can be confusing. Several different labor laws apply to employers in California, and failure to comply with these laws can result in significant penalties.

Some of the most important labor laws in California include the following:

Minimum Wage Laws:

Under California law, employers must pay their employees a minimum wage of $13 per hour. Employers who fail to pay their employees the minimum wage may be subject to civil penalties.

Overtime Laws:

California law requires that employees be paid overtime for all hours worked over 8 in a day or 40 in a week. Employees who work more than 12 hours in a day or more than 8 hours on a seventh day of the week are entitled to double their regular pay rate for all hours worked over 8.

Meal and Rest Break Laws:

California law requires employers to provide their employees with a 30-minute meal break for every 5 hours worked. Employees who work more than 6 hours a day are also entitled to a 10-minute rest break.

Payday Laws:

California law requires employers to provide their employees with a written pay stub whenever they are paid.

The pay stub must include information such as the employee’s name, address, and Social Security number; the dates of the pay period; the number of hours worked; the employee’s hourly rate of pay; and any deductions made from the employee’s compensation.

Florida Labor Laws

One of the most important provisions of the Florida labor law is the minimum wage.

All employees in Florida are entitled to receive a minimum salary of $10 per hour, which applies to both full-time and part-time employees and temporary and seasonal workers.

Some of the child labor laws in Florida include prohibitions on working in hazardous occupations, working during school hours, and working more than 40 hours per week.

The leave laws in Florida also specify the conditions under which an employee can be terminated from their job.

North Carolina Labor Laws

The North Carolina Minimum Wage Act sets the minimum wage employers must pay their employees.

The current minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. Employees who work more than 40 hours in a week are entitled to overtime pay, which is 1.5 times their regular pay rate.

The North Carolina Child Labor Laws protect minors from being employed in hazardous occupations and working excessive hours. These laws also set the minimum age for employment at 14 years old.

New York Labor Laws

According to New York’s Department of Labor, the maximum number of hours an employee can work in a day is 8, and the maximum number of hours an employee can work in a week is 40.

Employees must receive a 30-minute break if they work more than 6 hours consecutively, and employers must provide meal breaks for employees who work more than 8 hours consecutively.

Labor Laws For Minors In Ohio

There are labor laws for minors in Ohio that set restrictions on a minor’s hours and the types of work a minor may perform.

For example, a minor may not work more than eight hours per day or 40 hours per week. A minor may not work in certain hazardous occupations, such as mining, construction, and manufacturing.

There are also restrictions on the types of jobs minors may perform. For example, children under the age of 16 may not work in certain hazardous occupations, such as operating power-driven machinery, working in construction, or working in manufacturing.

Labor Laws Tennessee

Tennessee has many labor laws that protect employees in the workplace. Some of these laws include the following:

Employees covered by these laws should be familiar with their rights, and employers should be aware of their responsibilities.

The minimum wage in Tennessee is set to rise to 12 dollars per hour in 2023. Employees who work more than 40 hours in a week are entitled to overtime pay at 1.5 times their regular pay rate.

Tennessee also has laws that require employers to provide employees with rest breaks. Employees who work more than four hours a day are entitled to a 20-minute break, and employees who work more than eight hours are entitled to a 30-minute break.

Final Word On Labor Laws

Labor laws in the United States can be complicated, and both employers and employees need to understand their rights and responsibilities.

The Department of Labor offers a variety of resources to help employers and employees stay informed about labor law changes, compliance requirements, and more.

You can also find state-specific information on the DOL website. If you have any questions or need assistance understanding your rights or obligations under labor law, contact the DOL for help.


Viable Outreach

© Viable Media, LLC